Farmers’ Resistance Day on 9 August

The All India Kisan Mahasabha (AIKM) called for nationwide farmers’ resistance day on 9 August, also observed as anti-imperialism day by the party, against the loot of agricultural land and natural resources and the policies responsible for pledging the country’s agriculture in the hands of national and foreign companies, and demanding land reforms and waiving of loans to the farmers.

Observing resistance day, a massive protest march was organised in Bagodar, in Giridih district of Jharkhand. A seminar and a protest meeting was also organised in Bengabaad, also in Giridih district. Dharna and meetings were also organised in Ramgarh, Koderma and Hazaribagh districts of the state. In Odisha, a united protest was organised in Puri district headquarters. Protests were also organised in Bhubaneswar, Kalahandi and other districts of Odisha. In Madhya Pradesh, a dharna was organised in front of the district officials in Bhind and followed by a meeting in which people participated in huge numbers. The farmers’ resistance day was also observed in several places in Chambal and Gwalior.

A seminar was organised in Krishna district of Andhra Pradesh in which a huge number of farmers and youth participated. In Rajasthan, AIKM organised a dharna at the district headquarters in Jhunjhunu. A meeting and a march were organised by AIKM in Gazipur in Uttar Pradesh. Protests and demonstrations were also organised in Jalaun, Bareilly, Pilibhit, Mathura and Meerganj.

In Kaithal, Haryana, ‘Betrayal Day’ was observed and a dharna and a meeting organised in front of the local secretariat. A protest march was taken out from Lalkuan station in Nainital district in Uttarakhand and a charter of demand submitted to the Tehsil officer. In West Bengal, protest march were called in Hooghly and Nadia districts.

In Bihar, protest march took place in Hajipur, where a massive resistance sabha was organised in Baswan Singh Stadium. In Jehanabad too, protest march was held and a meeting held at the railway station. A dharna was organised at district headquarters in Nawada. Protests and other programmes were also organised in Purnea, Arwal, Shukrabad, Agiaon, Buxar, Jamui, Rohtas and Naubatpur. In the Peero block of Bhojpur district, a sabha was organised and PM Modi’s effigy burnt.

In Punjab, dharnas were organised in Sangrur, Barnala and Gurdaspur. In Mansa too, a massive dharna was called in which farmers participated in huge numbers. In Maharashtra, a protest march was taken out in Ahmednagar.