Party Workers Convention in Patna

The CPI (ML) units of Patna district and Patna city jointly held a convention for party workers at the IMA Hall on 20 January 2017. Speaking at the convention Party General Secretary Com Dipankar Bhattacharya said that the poor of Bihar and of the entire country are bearing the brunt of the Modi government’s note ban on the one hand and the Nitish government’s liquor ban on the other. The Bihar government which makes tall claims about social justice is silent on three basic issues: education, employment, and land reform. On the contrary, those who are fighting for these rights are being attacked and killed. In recent days Bihar has witnessed a deluge of attacks on dalits, poor, women and minorities, of which the murders of Comrades Satyanarayan Yadav and Kamleshwar Rishidev who were fighting for land rights, and the gang and rape and brutal murder of Dika Kumari are only two instances. The Nitish government is silent on these serious issues but is today making a human chain to for the liquor ban which has become their single point agenda.

Com Dipankar said that the Party would undertake an agitation across Bihar for true social justice. This would begin on 26 January. After the flag hoisting, memorial meetings would be held for all our martyred comrades and for mahadalit student victim Dika Kumari in every village and tola to fight for the rights of the people. The Adhikar Yatra (Rights Yatra) will start on 11 February from Beguserai district and will proceed through Bhagalpur, Seemanchal and other places to culminate in Patna on 17 February. The Yatra and the subsequent rally on 19 February would appeal to the people of UP to give a sound drubbing to the anti-democratic and anti-people BJP, as the people of Bihar had done during the Bihar Assembly elections.

The convention was also addressed by State Secretary Com. Kunal, CPI (ML) leader in the Legislature Com. Mahboob Alam, CC member Com. Shashi Yadav, RYA State Secretary Com. Navin Kumar, AICCTU State Secretary Com. Ranvijay Kumar, and others.