A ‘Save the Constitution-Save Democracy’ convention was organized under the ‘Naye Bharat ke Vaaste-Bhagat Singh Ambedkar ke Raaste’ campaign on 9 August, the anniversary of the Quit India movement, at Ambedkar Hall in Lalkuan (Nainital). The convention began with tributes to the memory of our freedom fighters, and a song presented in honor of our revolutionary martyrs by Comrade Bahadur Singh Jangi.

Addressing the convention CPI(ML) Uttarakhand in-charge Comrade Raja Bahuguna said that the powers that be today have put the hard-won freedom of the country and our democracy in grave danger. The convention was also addressed by AICCTU State President Nishan Singh, senior Party leader Bahadur Singh Jangi, journalist Sartaj Alam, Udham Singh Nagar District Secretary Anand Singh Negi, Lalit Matiyali, Rudal Prasad, Kishan Baghri and others.