Tea Workers’ Rally in Siliguri

On 4 July 2017, tea workers held a rally from Bagdogra Airport area demanding declaration of minimum wages, monetisation of ration subsidies, patta for homestead land in each labour line within the garden, opening of closed and abandoned tea gardens and justice for the victims of police atrocities during the 48-hours tea sector strike held on 12-13 June 2017.
The rally was led by Pulak Ganguli, Mojammel Haque, Apu Chaturvedi, Abhijit Mazumdar, Lalu Oraon, Bandhu Bek, Monbahadur Lama from the AICCTU-affiliated Terai Sangrami cha Shramik Union; Saman Pathak, Goutam Ghosh from CITU; Aloke Chakrabarty, Dilip Das from INTUC, Bikas Sen Roy from UTUC, and Debasish Roy from AIUTUC among others. Braving heavy rain, the leaders also addressed the rally at Bagdogra Bihar Crossing.